About a year ago I started keeping a book list.  It’s a simple little journal in which I write the title, author and a little something about the book I just read.  This year I decided to do a few things a little different.  First I’m including books that I started but didn’t finish along with a sentence describing why I didn’t finish.  The other thing I’m doing different is to include books I read to my son.   This is much more exciting too me.

You see I keep this journal for two reasons.  It helps me to recall the books I’ve read and what I learned from them.  My book list is also a record of my life, written in my own handwriting.   I imagine my son looking through this journal one day and laughing as he realizes that some of the titles are books we read together.

Photo credit: stock.xchng

