My eight year old is a networking superstar.  Seriously, once he starts working a room he owns it!  I’ve been watching him and I think I’ve learned his technique.  Although I’ve definitely got to work on the execution.  Here’s how he does it.

First he smiles.  Not a small smile, a big glad to see you, yes you smile.  Second he focuses on the person in front of him.  He engages them.  Third, he reaches out his hand and asks “What’s your name?”  Fourth, he tells them his name.  Simple.

I once read that Tim Gunn uses a similar technique when attending parties.  He said that whether he knows the person or not; he reaches out his hand and says “Hi, I’m Tim Gunn.  What’s your name?”

So there you go.  Next time you find yourself in a room full of people; engage your inner eight year old and make some friends.

