A couple of years ago I decided to try my hand at sales.  Having never sold anything before I grossly overestimate my ability and grossly underestimated the task at hand.  Needless to say within a year I fell flat on my face.  Perhaps i should have taken the time to learn how to sell; before I decide to jump head first in deep water.  But most importantly I didn’t know how to build and strengthen a personal or professional network.

Since then I’ve become increasingly interested in personal and professional networks. I want to know how they work, grow and become strengthened and weakened.  I’m constantly exploring tools that can be used to help me with my network.  I seed it, water and occasionally weed it.  Sometimes I even talk to it.

So here are some resources to help you get started developing your own network.

  • How to win friends and influence People; Dale Carnegie
  • The Little Black Book of Connections; Jeffrey Gitomer
  • Trust Agents; Chris Brogan and Julien Smith
  • Rolodex Book; Harvey Mackay*

*The Rolodex book can be downloaded from http://www.harveymackay.com.

